Generation 7 Chapter 4: Hitched

I hadn’t said a word since he came in through the doors. All the feelings I had anticipating his arrival, were whirling around now. I was afraid that if I did say something, it’d come out wrong and I’d shame myself. I listened to the hum of the machine making our drinks…wait, why? I hadn’t offered him a drink, I didn’t even want one. I looked at the package I opened, I didn’t even like this flavor! I tossed the package back to where it was and glared at the machine as it made enough for 5 to drink. It beeped at me when it was done, and I put the cups on a plate. The silence was something horrid now, maybe I could throw a cup at the wall. That would certainly break all silence and be a sure fire way to begin a conversation.“So you’re a bodyguard. Must be nice guarding all kinds of sims and monsters.”
I balanced the plate of cups and stared at them, as if it was their fault I sounded so stupid.

I heard him chuckle, my spine crawled with embarrassment. Most got red cheeks, felt hot, or smile in a goofy way, I just twitched like I was freezing.
“Yes. That is what I do and it is what I like. Would you like help with that?”

“No.” I said curtly.
I half dropped, half placed the beverages in front of him and grabbed my own cup. I looked into his eyes for a second, I turned my head away sharply and went to my seat.

“This smells wonderful.” He smiled as he inhaled the drink.

“It smells like a llama to me.” I huffed as I took a sip.

“…Then why’re you drinking it?”Shocked, I quickly spat the liquid back into the cup and took it away from my mouth. It didn’t help, that foul taste was on my tongue now.
“Did any of your clients give you beverages?”

“Yes, many times. I remember the Goths trying to give me Nectar of the Dead. Good for sims, bad for monsters.”

“Ah. Just the scent of that can get you drunk as a swamp monster.”

“Sim are strange creatures. They’re like us…but more squishy, vulnerable, and think they own the world.”

“So you basically had to babysit a squishy glob of a life form?”

“Yes. And they’re more bold in their attacks. Monsters are covert and try to destroy from the inside out, Sims just go in screaming and charging.”

“Ah.” I sighed.

“Are you ok?”

“Yes…I just,” I sighed “you aren’t who I thought you would be.”“I’m sorry about that.”

The bodyguard Styra had been speaking of, was not Harnish. Instead, she was speaking of Mencil Yipperky. He had a…happy and bright face. He looked like he’d be naive of the world, and not someone you’d think of as a bodyguard. I could see that as bad or good. Bad, I’d have more attacks against me. Good, those that mean to do me harm would foolishly walk in and be stopped where they stood.

“It’s fine. As long as you do your job correctly.”

“Oh yes mam! As a Blub it’s my duty to protect.”

“Blub?”

“I meant Brute. This drink’s really good. Making me go all tongue tied.” He began to gulp it down.

“You don’t look like any brute I’ve seen before.” I hissed.

I thought of Harnish and his family. They looked very much like werewolves but Mencil, looked like a phantom almost.

“I’m a Brute reject.  You don’t expect me to look like one would you?”

That was true. I looked away, I was just not my usual self today.

“Fin you’re hired. You’ll sleep on the sofa out there, you’ll always be alert or so help me you’ll find yourself in jail. As my employee and a guest in this house, my word is law. Understood?”

“Yes, ma’m!”

With nothing left to discuss, I left the table but Mencil stood up.“With all due respect m’am, Styra informed me of your previous bodyguard. I assure Ms. Fangs, until you dismiss I will never leave your side.”

I stared into his youthful, bright eyes. They were sincere, I could tell. I felt my face grow warm and my spine tingle. I looked down and smiled to myself.

“See to it that you fulfill that promise.”“Mother this is your son’s wedding.”

“Yes, yes. Because if the media were to take photos of an awfully decorated hall, they’ll think the Fangs have no taste. I had to take over preparations. Yes, yes that too, of course I picked her dress! It’s her wedding day, I won’t allow her to make a fool of herself or the family. No, just her parents. Her cousins don’t need to be there.”

My mother had called me. The wedding was tomorrow and she was distraught, I think, to learn that the only thing the bride had part in with the wedding, was being the bride. I explained to her how we could look like we lacked taste and shacked up with just anyone if she were to throw an ugly wedding. This only upset her more.

“I don’t know why you’re so upset, it’s not like it’s your wedding.”

“Hey Mammon!”

My assistant Styra burst through the door. She was panting and clearly excited.

“I’ll call you back mom.”“What?”

“Ok, you’re going to get real angry at me…but I think Mencil likes you!”

“Where are you getting that from?”

“I was sort of hiding under the kitchen window…”

“Spying?”

“Yes…but I heard how he spoke to you. That was the voice of a man smitten!” She cheered in a sing song voice.

“Even if that were so, I won’t get romantically involved with the help. Now leave me, I must prepare for tomorrow.”After the wedding, which was wonderful if I must say, the bride and groom returned to the house to gather their things.

“I know that wasn’t the wedding you wanted…if you’d like we can have a secret one? Just the way you want it.”

“I don’t care about weddings anymore, I don’t care about planning them either. I’ve got what I want, you, my husband.”

Alissa avoided me the whole time, I was annoyed at her for that. Here I had thrown her a wonderful wedding, allowed her to marry my brother, and I’d done all I could to have the press see this as a wonderful family that all got along. Levi thanked me and that was it. I guess I had to understand that after having been able to do whatever they wanted for so long, they had to get used to my control. Still, they were beautiful to see.People asked when I was going to get married and had I found that wonderful person yet? They were hard to avoid and harder to answer but I managed it. It was still a wonderful night to me. I couldn’t wait until I was able to experience what Alissa had, the wonderful love she had and just being a wife. Of course, I may be short on time for that. As heiress, I had to produce children. There were many families that would gratefully give me a son to have as a husband, but I still wanted to find my own love.

9 responses to “Generation 7 Chapter 4: Hitched

Comment!