Generation 7 Chapter 6: Ahoy

“Get up, we’re going out.”

Getting up that morning, I felt odd. You ever get those moments where you’re thinking about something, and you feel like it will happen? I woke up, with something bad was going to happen. Mencil and I were engaged, into 4 months of dating. Was it quick? Yes. Were we rushing into it? Yes. But I felt so safe, so protected, so wrapped up in warmth and love. Mencil gave me everything and anything I wanted, and as a person that loves getting everything I want when I want it I couldn’t ask for more. Well, I could but it’s the sentiment that counts.“Mmm! What’re we doing?”

“Does it matter? I said get up, so get up.”

“Yes love.”

I was about to announce to the island my engagement. As an heiress and with such influence in this place, I had to let the people know that I was moving forward and they could expect little Fangs sometime in the near future. I planned to hit the beach, the mall, one restaurant, a daycare or two and then the park. Mencil would be by my side making sure I was safe and be showing off my ring for me by holding my hand, his precious wife to be.Everyone congratulated me, congratulated the Fangs and us as a couple. They asked the token questions, when’s the big day, would it be televised, how many kids, and where would be taking our honeymoon. One man from my family’s Evil connections, thanks to my Great-Great-Grandfather Flake Fangs, stopped us with a proposition.

“So as your husband, Lady Fangs, will Mencil still remain as your body guard?”

“He will.”

“Then, how about this? We set up some stronger security systems for your land, let this guy train our new guys, and continue to serve your family like we have for generations?”

“I’m not interested. You guys are last resort, you know that. The Fangs aren’t…angels ugh thank llama, but to have openly seen ties to the Evil Organization would definitely frighten a ton of monsters away. Monsters I need to build the family name up and stronger.”

“Hey, hey! Your relative, Flake Fangs, was our emperor until his death. Then Maris took over and used us to get your family here. They used us for good and benefits, come on, we’re built into your blood. We’re the claws of the Fangs!”

“I don’t know if you’re just stupid or stubborn but my answer was no and when I say no, it’s no. Do I need to brand that onto your forehead!?”

This guy, he had some nerve. So what if my family and the Organization were interconnected? I was leader now, my word is law, and my law was no more of it. He was getting ready to try and persuade me, Mencil was getting ready to shove this guy into a tree, but then I turned my head and they both vanished.I saw this guy. This guy was just staring me down, like drilling holes into me. It was getting really annoying when he didn’t seem to notice that I noticed him. I know I’m gorgeous, powerful, and getting a glimpse of me was getting a glimpse of history in the making, but right now wasn’t a moment that I wanted attention. I loved attention, I loved having it all, but arguing with this guy wasn’t the best time. I examined him. He looked dirty, tired, he was wearing a pirate outfit, and he looked like someone that had seen too much of the world too soon. He looked like a…like a…
“Brute.” I huffed.

I clamped my hand over my mouth. Brute! Harnish! Oh my llama, plumbob! That was Harnish, my old friend, my first love, my first heart-breaker, Harnish Ledger! His eyes lit up as mine watered, and he came dashing towards me.“Momo!”

“Ha..ha!” I breathed, amazed that this man was Harnish.

“Uhm, Mammon, love…who is this man embracing you?”

“Oh my, how touching. Your future wife look mighty friendly.”

“Shut up!”

“Oh Mencil, this is Harnish! Harnish Ledger from so long ago! I’ve missed you!”

“Uhm, that’s nice. But…people are looking.”

“Oh! oh of course, let’s go somewhere. Let’s go to my home! We’ve so much catching up to do. Come on, come on!”

I rushed my fiance and old friend away from the park and quickly towards my home. Mencil kept protesting, Harnish just kept laughing.“Well, congrats on your engagement Momo!”

“Yes, thank you, we both thank you, now get out and leave us to plan our wedding?”

“Mencil stop being rude or we won’t have a wedding.”

“But Momo!”

“Don’t call me that! Harnish, how’ve you been? How’s life?”

“Well, as good as can be? My parents took me back and we fought the Brute community, but Brutes, well Brutes are Brutes. My parents went in, teeth bared, but they never came back. So I ran, how could I defend myself when I was as good as a Sim? I hid in a box, and when I came out the box was on a ship! A pirate ship! Jelly Beard was his name, and he took me in. He taught me everything I needed to know to survive both on land and on the waters.”

“Oh you’re a pirate. Big whoop.”

“Mencil! You know Harnish, Mencil’s a brute too.”

“Oh?”“Yea, I’m a reject brute. I served as a bodyguard for Sims. Goths, Landgraabs, you know the big names?”

“Wow. You’re not like any Brute I’ve ever met.”

“What do you expect? I’m a reject.”

“True. Well, where you from? Brutasia? Burskia? Brustania?”

“Bruskia!”

“Oh…you are. I heard it’s lovely there. What do those purple birds with the red flowers for eyes do in the summer again?”

“They just swim…they get hot…so they swim.”

Styra came in, she stared at Harnish. Mencil looked at her, I felt him twitch.

“Mencil! I need your help lifting some heavy machinery. Come do that for me please, ok, thank you!”

“Excuse me.” Mencil left the room.

Harnish looked at me, and I felt something surge through me. I felt safe…warm…everything Mencil made me feel, I felt stronger with Harnish. He’d really grown into something…wonderful?I stood up from the sofa, my eyes never leaving Harnish. He mimicked me, a small smile caressed his face. I thought about when we were children, when we were so close and happy. I wondered what our lives would have been like had he never went away. It felt like he never left. It felt like all of the years without him were just bad dreams when he was standing here with me. Somehow, we were embracing each other. His hands were playing in my hair, my chin was resting in the warm crook of his neck. I thought about Mencil, what would he think if he saw us now. My heart twisted.

“Come with me Momo. Let’s run away, let’s go live on a ship.”

My heart quickened. I thought about that, about leaving everything, about just being with him and only him, just us. The Fangs!

“I have a responsibility, a duty. I can’t leave. I’ve a fiance, whom I love. Old friend, I still care about you, but Mencil and I are to be wed. I hope we can still be friends. I’ve missed you.”

“You’re in danger.”

“What?”

“Bruskia is fake. I named random gibberish off of the top of my head. There’s no way Mencil’s a Brute. Even a Brute is a Brute, and he’s definitely not. He’s the same scent as the woman that took him away. I fear his plotting something, Momo, you’ve got to get away from them.”

“No! Styra’s been with me for years. I trust her as much as I trust you. Mencil’s in love with me, he’d never let anything hurt me.”

“Something’s wrong! You’ve got believe me, what would I have to gain by lying to you!?”I quickly let go of him and pried him off of me. I took a step back from him. I felt a pang in my head, it shook me a little bit. But how could Harnish say such things!? How could he accuse me of living in danger when he left me? And why was I still bitter!?

“You’ve got me.”

“What?”

“You’ve got me to gain! You leave me, at 14. A young, impressionable age where I’m full on attached to you and run away to the sea!? You’re a pirate for llama’s sake. I know they loot and they plunder, how many females were there? Can you even remember?”

“No! No! There were…some but not many and I swear if I could, I wouldn’t never have left but that’s too late to change! Forgive me for that Momo, I wasn’t there. But I’m here now and I’m back to protect you!”

“Your place has been filled, you’re not needed! Get out of my house!”

“Momo!”

“It’s too late to come back and try to fit into my life! There’s no room.”

“Mammon! Please, I promise you. I love you, I never stopped I swear. I just…I’m a man of my word. I promised to stay and protect, I’ll uphold the protect part! Please! Listen to me!”

He reached for my hand, pleading, begging. I yanked my hand away in disgust, I wished so badly for Mencil to return and see this, to save me.

“I am Mammon Fangs, and you need to get the llama out!”

I turned on my heels, evading his attempts to grab me, and stormed to my room.“I was a fool to trust you! You let another man in this house? And her old flame no less! Her first love! You idiot, I will kill you.”

“Styra please, please! Just give me one more chance! I’ll marry her, we’ll have a kid and I’ll have him sign over the Fangs to our family!”

“My family! Mencil, I hereby declare you disowned, you no longer have the rights or access to the Yipperky name.”

“No! Please, just one more! Please, please!”

“Idiot! I’ll charm her. I should’ve done that from the get go. Charm her and have her sign it over. Then, kill her. I’ll kill her in-front of you, that’ll teach you to ever disobey orders again! How could you let yourself fall in love with such a low form of life!?”

“I…I…I love her! Ok there I said it! We can do this without violence! We can work it out, maybe we can join the families!?”

“You admit it!? Ugh that’s sick. You’re sick. Do you even know the woman you’re marrying? There will be bloodshed to make the Hatfield’s and McCoy’s blush before she ever willingly signed a joint agreement or any sort of contract that took some power from the Fangs!”

“I can get through to her, I know her, the real her!”

“Does she know the real you!? You know she only fell for you through the charm. You idiot, llama, fool! How much in love is she? Had you never fed her that charm to speed things up, you think you’d have the rings? Ha! Pathetic! Oh..she’s coming. You, trap her in her room. I’ll handle it myself, as I should have.”

“Yes…”

I was standing in my room contemplating everything. Not even 10 minutes ago, I was happy and fuzzy. Harnish had come back and I was thinking about how life was wonderful, how complete I felt, and how we had so much catching up to do. But here I was, throwing him out of the house because he was bad-mouthing my fiance. It felt so odd, considering…I loved him. I still loved him. I was pacing around, trying to make sense of it all when Mencil ran in.“Mencil?”

“We’ve got to go, and I’ll explain. Grab everything important, we’re leaving!”

“What!?”

“I’m not a Brute! I’m a reject warlock. My sister, Styra, is a witch. Our plan was to come in and take over the Fangs because…Styra hates rejects and hates that a reject family has so much power. She’s going to kill you now, come on!”

“Oh my llama. Harnish was right! Who the plumbob are you!?”

“I’m still me! I’m still Mencil, sworn to protect you and love you! I’ll die before she gets to you, I won’t let her get to you! Please, let’s go now!”

“I don’t want to die!”

“I know, please! I’m sorry I lied to you, I’m sorry we charmed you into the loving me. And that drink, no accident. I’ll repent another time, now we’ve got to go!”

“I…I trust you. Ok, help me!”I looked into Mencil’s eyes. There was nothing but truth in them. I couldn’t believe it, all this time I really was in danger. Harnish was right…he was still protecting me…but Mencil…

“I love you. On my own, I know I do.” I stated.

Mencil turned to me, a look of relief on his face. My heart twitched again. I searched myself as fast as I could while I ran around gathering papers, Mencil helping me. The charm…I don’t care if I was still under it or not, Mencil was here and I needed him now. I needed him to get me out and safely. I still had feelings for him but I’d weigh that against the pros and cons when I wasn’t worrying over my life. I’d look at him now and again, and he’d look at me. I trusted him, I had no choice. I loved him, I had no choice, but it wasn’t because of the charm. I promised myself that.

We were just about ready to make our escape, when Styra burst in.“Oh my plumbob, really!? Yet another betrayal? So I guess he told you everything?”

“He told me everything. You’d better give up on your path of power.”

“Oh? Guess that means I’m fired now. Oh well, I’ll kill you either way. It would’ve been great to have whatever power and wealth your pathetic little family managed to gather. But as long as the Fangs end here, I really don’t care!”

My heart quickened. If Styra was the witch, then I really had to watch myself. Logic and magic were eternal foes, and one always trumped the other in certain situation, it was like the flip of a coin. I wasn’t in the mood to find out which one got tails today. I heard Mencil yell as she waved a finger.

“No you cursed witch! Kill me, spare her! You’re mad at me! I’ll die before I watch Mammon be harmed by you, I’ll kill you before you harm her! Sister, dear.”

“Big words, tiny mouth. Don’t forget your place, maggot. And do not forget who I am.”

“I’m making a new place, and it’s right by her side. You’ll have plumbob to pay if you hurt the one I love, I swear it!”

“Oh shut up. I’m tired of you. All of you. Rejects should just be killed at birth. I’d never have had this problem had you never fallen in love, let alone existed!”

A flash came from her finger tip and struck Mencil dead in the eye. He froze, standing frozen in rage. She paralyzed him!? He didn’t blink, flinch, breathe or squeak. It was as if she put him on pause.

“Mencil!” I cried.

Styra turned her glare to me. A smirk graced her lips, fear surged through me. I willed with all of my might that Mencil break free of her spell and jump into action.

“Why!? He’s your brother! I’ve done nothing to you!”

“Oh you’re one to preach about freedom, especially the freedom of family members. Think of it as me bettering my family. To kill you, both of you!”She flicked her finger and a terrible fire ran through me.

“Stop it! You’re not bettering anyone. You’re vile, evil!”

“You flatter me! Scream some more, scream! It makes me feel stronger, I love when insects cry!”

I bit my lip, if I were to die, then I’d not give her that satisfaction. I looked over at Mencil, my heart broke for him. I wouldn’t let him see me in agony, if he was able to see at all. He fell in love with a strong woman, a powerful woman. That’s who I would die as, a strong woman. I closed my eyes and hoped for it to end quickly.When I opened them again, the pain was gone. Styra was knocked out on my bed, and Mencil was holding me. I looked around, wondering if I was alive or dead. I saw Harnish, I saw his eyes were red.

“Hey Mammon, it’s ok now. It’s all over.”

“Mencil? What…what happened?”

“Harnish broke in. It was terrifying! I thought you were gone when you feel over, I thought I’d lost you! He took her down, he saved you, me, us! Mammon, I’m so sorry, I’m so sorry!”

I reached a hand up to stroke Mencil’s face. I was still in my daze, terrified as I began to remember that searing pain. I stared at Harnish, amazed.

“I’ve called the cops. Styra will be deported and dealt with by the magical organizations…but they told me that they’d been informed already…Mencil will explain.”

“Huh?”

“Mammon, love. My sister anticipated something going wrong. She informed higher-ups that if she were to be called in for, that a Brute would be going with her as well. Since that’s what I’m registered as…I have to go…”

I clawed at Mencil’s shoulders. What the plumbob! Why did it seem like every man I fell in love with, that promised to forever stay with me, was ripped away from me!?

“Don’t go! Don’t go! I’ll get you out of it…I’ll use the Fangs, the Evil Organization even!”

“Mammon, you’re only powerful in the reject world. The normal monsters will ignore you. I wish I could stay…I swore it…”

He leaned his head on mine and we began to cry, holding onto each other.“What’re you two goofballs crying for?”

I raised my head. Harnish. He saved me, he was right all along, he loved me and in my mind I felt like it should be him. I should be embracing him, thanking him, holding onto him, but I was with Mencil.

“I only see one Brute here. I’ll go.”

“Harnish! No!” I gasped.

Harnish, go in Mencil’s place!? I shook my head, trying to find a reason he shouldn’t go, but I couldn’t. I didn’t come to me.

“It’s ok Momo. I promised to protect you, that includes your heart. You love him, so he should stay.”

5 responses to “Generation 7 Chapter 6: Ahoy

  1. I missed Harnish… and now he’s going again 😦 I’m so sad now. Well at least Mammon finally realized something.

Comment!

